Jeff Varner, What Were You Thinking? We All Want To Know.

I wasn’t sure what to write about for this week’s refutation, but then I was told about what happened on survivor… I don’t ’ even like that show and I don’t keep up with it which is why I had no idea what had happened this past week. If you are just as lost as I was, let me catch you up. So, a dumbass contestant named Jeff Varner decided it would be a dandy idea to go ahead and out another contestant, Zeke Smith, as transgender on national television without permission. I’m just as shook as you.

IMG_0029

He said, and I quote “Deceptions on levels, Jeff, that these guys don’t even understand.” He was then prompted by the host, who I assume is also named Jeff, to continue. He turned to Zeke and asked “Why haven’t you told anyone that you’re transgender?” Excuse you, Jeff Warner, but how is that any of your business and what does that have to do with “the game.”

IMG_0032

“What I’m showing is a deception,” he also said (*rolls eyes*) (video). What are you implying, Jeff Warner? Are you implying that Zeke was deceiving people by not telling them he was transgender? Well, that’s exactly how Zeke felt. As quoted in The Guardian,’“In proclaiming ‘Zeke is not the guy you think he is’ and that ‘there is deception on levels y’all don’t understand,’ Varner is saying that I’m not really a man,” Smith continues, “and that simply living as my authentic self is a nefarious trick. In reality, by being Zeke the dude, I am being my most honest self – as is every other transgender person going about their daily lives.”’ You know what? He is absolutely right. That is one of the biggest problems in the transgender community. People claim they are always trying to deceive people by “pretending” to be a different gender for various reasons (mainly simple minded people think they are using it as an excuse to be a pervert but that’s a whole other argument). People need to get that idea out of their heads and humans like Jeff Varner are not helping! Jeff did show remorse for his actions though. He said in the same The Guardian article that his actions were a “mistake” and that he is “deeply saddened.” Aw boo hoo.

IMG_0033

I’m sorry, but what do you have to be sad about? You’re the one who who revealed extremely personal information that was probably told to you in confidence. Are you sad that it backfired? Are you sad about all the backlash? In my opinion, you are getting what you deserve. Bad decisions have consequences and you made a REALLY bad decision. Consider yourself READ.

IMG_0028

Leave a Reply

